You know you need The Girl’s Guide to Web Design when . . .

. . . you see this.  A stock WordPress theme and a complete inability to convey the spirit of you and your business.

As those of you who know me know, I am a creative artist with an entrepreneurial spirit.  When have you ever seen me WITHOUT some sort of side venture, second business, little independent shop?  For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Erika and I’m a venture-holic.  I seriously love the thrill of starting a new web venture, whether it be a crafting shop, community blog, or art groups.  And I know some stuff when it comes to web design.  I can handle the basics — and then some.  But one thing that hasn’t quite clicked for me yet is this – WordPress and coding.  A little fun fact about me is that, although I consider myself a jack-of-all-trades, I’ve found myself intimidated by two things: WordPress and hair braiding.  Know of a scholarship for French Braiding?

As soon as I heard about The Girl’s Guide to Web Design, I knew it was something I HAD to do.  Had.  As in, NOT an option.  But, as a public school teacher, single mom (to THE most awesome and exuberant 10 year old, Emma), and part-time artist, crafter, and entreprenuer, I knew I couldn’t financially afford to jump in.  In fact, I’m sure Amanda could vouch for the fact that when I first inquired about the program, I asked – semi-jokingly, “Is there a scholarship I could apply for?”  Because I knew, considering my load, treating myself to something like this, despite how completely valuable and PERFECT for me, was just not something I could do.

So, here comes this scholarship.  I knew I had to jump at this.  What do I plan to do with this amazing gift?!

1. My website, Craftspectacular will become the big, bad-ass, community centered art, craft hub that I’m dying to create.  I want to showcase my art, provide online tutorials, inspire others through DIY projects, make creativity an everyday experience with mini-craft projects, follow the growing art community developing in my town and help it grow even bigger and better,  and more!

2. I want to teach this to my students!  Wouldn’t you have loved to learn a potentially life-changing skill in high school that could shape your future?  My kids are creative and so many have big ideas that need help becoming real.  I want to enable them to get a step closer through the acquisition of these valuable, practical skills.

Now, although I’d be absolutely thrilled to win a scholarship for either edition, I really, really want the First Class edition.  I want to interact, and take part in discussion, and brainstorm and pow-wow with others.   Please, oh, please go here and  “LIKE” my entry so that I might be so fortunate to win this scholarship.  Because then, in no time, you’ll see an amazing website for Craftspectacular, a blossoming art community and a pack of hungry young web designers in Laredo, Texas taking the world by storm!

3 thoughts on “You know you need The Girl’s Guide to Web Design when . . .

  1. Ilian Hernandez says:

    wishing you success 🙂
    you are a great teacher.

    with love,
    I&A

  2. Jenny says:

    voted. 🙂 a friend of Vero.

Leave a Reply

